Review | The Way It Hurts by Patty Blount

Title | The Way It Hurts
Author | Patty Blount
Pages | 352
Publisher | Sourcebooks
Series | None
Release Date | August 2017
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

There may be two sides to every story, but sometimes there’s only one way to set things right…

Music is Elijah’s life. His band plays loud and hard, and he’ll do anything to get them a big break. He needs that success to help take care of his sister, who has special needs. So he’d rather be practicing when his friends drag him to a musical in the next town…until the lead starts to sing.

Kristen dreams of a career on stage like her grandmother’s. She knows she needs an edge to get into a competitive theater program―and being the star in her high school musical isn’t going to cut it. The applause and the attention only encourage her to work harder.

Elijah can’t take his eyes off of Kristen’s performance, and his swooning face is captured on camera and posted with an out-of-context comment. It goes viral. Suddenly, Elijah and Kristen are in a new spotlight as the online backlash spins out of control. And the consequences are bigger than they both could have ever imagined because these threats don’t stay online…they follow them into real life. 

branch and berry

The name Patty Blount is a name synonymous with some of the best young adult fiction available – novels such as TMI and Some Boys. While these books had me absolutely hooked and willing to read on, her latest fictional piece – The Way It Hurts – sadly did not. Although the plot did seem pretty solid, the pacing and the execution of the novel seemed too slow and drawn out for me. Because of this, I only read up to page 179, regrettably making it part of my DNF (did not finish) shelf.

Music was peace to me – sanity in all the chaos Anna caused.

The book itself has a pretty strong story to it – girl needs boy, boy needs girl, sexual chemistry and boom! Together by the finish. However, as I stated before, the execution of such a story seemed far to drawn out for me. Whether it was such to establish narratives from both Elijah and Kristen, I’m not entirely sure. But something about it just didn’t work for me. The plot does seem like a few books I have read previously, and while I’m sure that The Way It Hurts is an entirely original piece of fiction, I could just not shake off the boredom.

“You know, Richard, sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.”

“Of course, Mother. I was merely catering to my audience, as you taught me.”

Two characters I did absolutely adore from what I read, were Elijah and Etta. As soon as Etta was introduced, I fell in love with her brutal honesty and unwitting charm. She had some serious personality for a fictional character, and I saw one of my closest friends in her phrases and mannerisms. Patty Blount brilliants portrays her fabulously privileged character through her behaviour in the story. In reality, it would have been a hard task not to fall in love with Etta.

As for Elijah, the situation with his disabled sister Anna really broke my heart. It was adorable to read how he used music to communicate when she could not. The bathtub scene at the start was something I absolutely loved, and his desire to protect his younger sister was admirable. In all the rush of being Elijah, the Rock Star, he didn’t forget his sister. Instead she was his motivation.

She smiled brightly. “And now I know I am far too self-absorbed to love any man more than I love myself.”

Despite only reaching page 179 before calling it quits on the book, this has in no way coloured my opinion of the author or her books. Writing is an incredibly hard thing to do, and the fact she has already blessed the YA world with so many stories is wonderful. Although I could not personally read the rest of The Way It Hurts, that does not mean to say that anyone else should be discouraged from reading it.

Finally, he shook his head. “No. You’ll sing for them.” He wiggled his phone at me.

Perhaps in the future I can attempt to re-read the story and find it more to my taste. Yet at this current moment in time, I cannot. I would like to thank NetGalley for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review. The Way It Hurts will only receive one star from me.

1 starbranch and berry

+ Patty Blount +

Patty Blount grew up quiet and a bit invisible in Queens, NY, but found her voice in books. Today, she writes smart and strong characters willing to fight for what’s right. She’s the award-winning author of edgy, realistic, gut-wrenching contemporary and young adult romance. Still a bit introverted, she gets lost often, eats way too much chocolate, and tends to develop mad, passionate crushes on fictional characters. Let’s be real; Patty’s not nearly as cool as her characters, but she is a solid supporter of women’s rights and loves delivering school presentations.

contact-details

Email: childishlypassionate@gmail.com
Twitter: @passionchildUK
Instagram: @childishlypassionate

Leave a Reply

