Series Review | Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

It’s been a very exciting few years of E.L. James, author of the world sauciest book series. After becoming a household name with her cheeky romance trilogy, the good news just kept coming for the author with the buying of rights to the movie franchise. Whether you love the Fifty Shades of Grey series, you must give your applause to Ms James, as her success has been phenomenal.

I first read the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy when I was about fourteen or fifteen years of age. Fair to say that I giggled immaturely at the sex scenes, but the romance story between the billionaire-bachelor Mr Christian Grey and university student Ms Anastasia Steele has been a story that has stuck with me – for all the right reasons.

Photo Credit: Bloomberg/Getty Images

While the books do have their saucy moments (which is completely obvious for an erotic novel, by the way), the raw relationship and emotional roller-coaster the story of Christian and Ana takes you on is something magic. The books are a lot deeper than the simple BDSM story the media love to highlight.


I’m not quite sure what is was that made Fifty Shades of Grey such a hit with the public in the first place, but when I began to read the story, I was immersed into Ana’s world. Sure, the writing style is pretty basic and that is shown throughout the novel, but it doesn’t pretend to be something its not.

It was adorable seeing how Ana could fall for Christian despite his preferences and needs. As the first book establishes the romance, its definitely a necessary read. Yet it is fair to say this is not my favourite Fifty Shades book.

I have no shame in admitting that Fifty Shades Darker is my favourite book out of the whole series. There’s so much more action, so much more romance and it sets the tone perfectly for the third and final instalment (not including the recently released Grey), Fifty Shades Freed.

Again, there is so much more emotion and love put into this story. The twists and turns of the second book had me in plot heaven, because not one bit was predictable.

Which of course, is why I’m SUPER excited for the film release on Friday! The hype around this is massively, and justified in being so. You can check out the trailer just below this writing!


The third and final instalment in the series was just as good as the first two. It’s amazing to see how Ana and Christian still are, despite all the trials and tribulations thrown at them. I refuse to give anything away, so all I’m saying is that the ending is adorable.

Plot | 8 out of 10 | Adorable! A real test of love.
Theme | 5 out of 10 | Erotica isn’t my thing, but romance is!
Characters | 8 out of 10 | Honest but can be annoying.
Romance | 10 out of 10 | Insert heart-eyed emoji here.
Tone and Pace | 4 out of 10 | Quick moving, easy but basic.
Cover Art | 2 out of 10 | Linked to the book, but needs more.

Overall Series Reading | 7 out of 10 | My go-to books when needing to read!

So in a conclusion, I must thank you E.L. James. I can’t wait to see the next movie!

b-o-r-d-e-r


Hi, my name is E L James and I’m the author of Grey and the Fifty Shades Trilogy.  At the moment I’m writing Fifty Shades Darker from Christian’s point of view and I hope to have that published sometime in 2017. We are also completing post-production on Fifty Shades Darker the movie which will be out in February 2017.

goodreads | website
twitter | facebook

Photo Credit: Rob Kim/Getty Images

2 thoughts on “Series Review | Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

  1. Nika says:

    I love to read reviews where people have different opinions on a book than I do 🙂 It’s great to see a different point of view even if I don’t agree. Because, for me, these books were horrible. I read books when they came out. And I hated them from beginning. I couldn’t read the third book – I tried but couldn’t finish it.
    I think they’re poorly written, I thought they would be more erotic (even the sex scenes for me weren’t nothing special) but what I hated the most were characters and their relationships.
    Have fun watching the movie! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cody says:

      See that’s interesting because I myself have no issue with the books. Sure, the writing is basic and undeveloped, but I did really enjoy the characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

