Series Review | Embassy Row by Ally Carter

Ally Carter: Embassy Row | Book One: All Fall Down | Released February 5, 2015

A brilliant novel including suspense,mystery and a female heroine you can’t help but adore. When I first read this book back in 2015, I knew that Carter was onto a winner. Grace’s introduction into the novel was stellar, and she made a fantastic protagonist. Her struggles and demons that she must encounter during the novel make the story so much more real, so much more deep than ever. It was clear that this was some of Carter’s very best work.

The book gripped you until the shocking ending, where the conclusion left you panting and uneasy. But worse, it left you gagging to read the next instalment – something I’d have to wait a year for! Ally Carter had me hooked from book one, so well done!

Ally Carter: Embassy Row Book Two: See How They Run Released January 14, 2016

As soon as I got my hands on the second novel in the series, i knew that this would outrank The Gallagher Girls and have me hooked for more. Again, the plot had me tied to the book, unable to put it down for hours. I don’t normally read a book in the bath, but i made an exception for this one.

Knowing so much more after reading the first book, the second one seems a lot more hectic and a lot more explosive. The action is absolutely crazy – crazy good of course! I was in heaven reading how Grace was dealing with everything, coming to terms with her life now she knew the truth.

Book two also began my Grace and Alexei romance hunt. Like i woman possessed, I was screaming at the book for the two characters to get to-bloody-gether. They’re an amazing couple no doubt, if not my most favourite book couple ever.

Of course, this being an Ally Carter novel, she has to pull the rug out from under you and make you feel absolutely mad at the fact you have to wait a year (AGAIN) for the next and last instalment. Lemme admit, that the twist at the end of the second book was not something I was expecting. At all.

Ally Carter: Embassy Row Book Three: Take the Key and Lock Her Up Released January 26, 2017

Happy release date to Take the Key and Lock Her Up! My euphoric state to this news is shattered by the fact that this is the FINAL instalment to the series. It’s literally the end of the world. Or the end of Grace and Alexei’s anyway. Of course, I was blessed to read this story and I cannot think of a more perfect way to end the book.

Ally Carter needs to take all my money right now. Not that I have any, but still. This book was the stuff that dreams are made of. It perfectly concluded the story, as well as throwing in a lot of historical context and answers. Grace’s character exploded like a beautiful firework, and I felt like I’d just sent my first-born child off to university.

The novel does not end the way I expect it to end, but I finished the book with a grin and a heavy heart. Out of all the series Carter has written, I would adore this one to be made into a film adaptation. Can Carter out-do herself on her next book series? I sure so, because then she would be one of the greatest YA writers ever.

b-o-r-d-e-r

Plot | 10 out of 10 | Perfectly gripping, haunting and thrilling.
Theme | 10 out of 10 | Secret societies, murder and secrets, yes yes yes!
Characters | 8 out of 10 | Grace was a babe, always and forever.
Romance | 9 out of 10 | Grace and Alexei are romance goals – #adorable!
Tone and Pace | 10 out of 10 | The grown-up, mature approach made me feel great.
Cover Art | 7 out of 10 | Pretty damn fine work there!

Overall Series Rating | 10 out of 10 | They can’t get any better than this!

Leave a Reply

