Blog Tour | Weregirl by C. D. Bell


Title | Weregirl
Author | C. D. Bell
Pages | 400 pages
Publisher | Chooseco
Series | None
Release Date | November 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Nessa Kurland is running for her life.

C. D. Bell’s WEREGIRL is a fast-paced teen thriller set in Tether, Michigan, a town on the brink of shutdown since it was stripped of its resources by corporate polluter Dutch Chemical.

High school junior, Nessa Kurland, is a cross-country runner with her eyes set on one thing: a college scholarship as her one-way ticket out of Tether.

Talented teammate Cynthia Sinise invites Nessa on a nighttime run through Tether’s overgrown forest trails. But she speeds ahead, leaving Nessa alone to discover a trapped wolf. Nessa tries to free the animal but is badly bitten, seemingly ruining her hopes for a strong fall season with the cross-country team.

Instead, Nessa’s freakishly quick recovery is followed by improved running times. All her senses are heightened. Nessa has transformed.

She has become a werewolf.

In her new state, Nessa learns there are things about Tether that powerful people want to keep hidden. Why does a Nobel Laureate work at the small-town medical clinic? Are top college athletic scouts really interested in her emerging talent? Can she trust Chayton, the motorcycle-riding guide her friends have faith in? WEREGIRL Nessa must navigate her junior year and true human darkness, while making peace with her new, wild nature.

b-o-r-d-e-r

The first book I have read outside required reading in a month, Weregirl makes me wish I wasn’t a university student so I could get back into a genre I love. Admittedly, the werewolf genre of books is my guilty pleasure. For the first few years of my teenage-dom (totally a word by the way, completely no sleep deprived), I spent so much time reading all the werewolf fiction I could find on Wattpad. Safe to say that I exhausted the sight and found myself able to anticipate the move of every character. However, my faith in the paranormal genre was restored by this book and has easily become one of my favourites – putting it up there on my list with other paranormal writers such as Holly Black and Bella Johnson.

Nessa was the fictional definition of female inspiration. In a world where Feminism is still shamed, and the media still try to persuade us that a woman is not a woman until she is behind a good man sucks. Nessa didn’t need a man to protect her, and instead withdrew courage and strength from her personality and spirit. Very rarely does a YA book give the reader that sense of understanding, but Nessa was easy to relate to and perhaps my favourite protagonist of the year. Her kind-heartedness is constantly showing throughout the novel, and she never lets anything get in the way of achieving her goal. As a caring person, she puts herself at risk to save those who she has yet to become acquaintances with, as well as protecting those dearest.

It is highly important to understand the significance of a character like this. One reason is that this is (whether the author intended it or not) a massive finger up and the rules and ideals of society. Nessa defies them all. She slays. Plain and simple. Also, it sends out a brilliant message to the reader. If I had read this book was I was younger and more impressionable, it would have made a severely important impact. It’s amazing that a writer can communicate such important message through her writing.

Admittedly, not everything about the novel was perfect. My feeling towards a third-person viewpoint aren’t exactly warm and fuzzy. Instead I prefer to opt for books that has more focussed first-person standing. Also, the tone of the novel did feel a little sloppy and childish in places. However, it was easy to ignore, as the story was quite an interesting plot to follow along. I also want to put my concerns about the pace of the novel in this little bit. There were times I did wonder why I was continuing to read the novel, and the main plot did seem to get a little bit confusing towards the ending. While it took me two days to read, my mind has been rather sluggish recently, so I wouldn’t pin the book to fault for this reason. Yet I would have still enjoyed the story to move a little bit faster than it was doing.

The last thing I will mention was my adoration for how the book kept me guessing. My prejudices showed when I was sent this eBook, and admittedly I didn’t really want to read it. As mentioned above, having pretty much exhausting hundreds of werewolf stories, I was afraid I’d be able to guess the plot by the second chapter. I don’t think I’ve ever been as wrong in my life, and that’s a bloody good thing. The book was a really interesting read, and when I read the last sentence I did feel quite sad. I’m not going to worship the book, because every book has faults. Even John Green books. But Weregirl was a book that I am proud to say I have read and enjoyed.

I’d like to thank C. D. Bell for the opportunity to read her brilliant story, and I’d like to also thank her publicist for messaging me. My M.I.A status has not been for no reason, and I wasn’t too sure as to whether I wanted to come back to the blogging world. However, Sarah’s message pushed me to engage with the wonderful world of reading once again. So I must say a big thank you. My overall rating for this story was a four, and I would recommend that you give it a chance. Do not just dismiss it because it has werewolves. Trust me on this one.

4 stars

 

EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT:

If wolves had been around for millennia, how was it that science still didn’t seem to have a handle on basic facts about them?

And if science was so foggy on wolves, how could she possibly expect to find anything about what was actually happening to her?

Then Nessa felt her blood turn cold. On the fifth page of results following her search for wolves + returning + bite +Michigan, she saw the words “Tether” and “attack.” She clicked through and came to a blog post called “Why I Would Move Away from Tether (If I was stupid enough to live there in the first place)” written by a rancher in Wyoming.

What was someone in Wyoming doing talking about Tether?

Could there possibly be a town called Tether in Wyoming too?

No, Nessa saw, this guy was talking about Tether, Michigan. It was right there in the first sentence of his blog entry.

In the first sentence of his entry was the line: “The best wolf is a dead wolf.” He wrote: “The best wolf is a dead wolf, but if you live anywhere near Tether, MI, chances are getting much more likely the wolf is coming to get you.”

Nessa read on, all about how wolves coming back into Wyoming had started attacking his sheep herd, and he had started tracking news reports. He had a link to a website cataloging wolf attacks on animals and humans in the United States and Canada. In the last year, there were eleven attacks on livestock or humans within the Tether town limits, more than any other municipality in the country.

“Not surprising,” the rancher went on, “given that the Algonquin word for wolf ‘mahigan’—is basically the state name. Don’t give me that BS they teach Michigan children in school that it’s from the Chippewa ‘meicigama,’ for great water, after that big lake they’ve got up there. Which word sounds closer to you?”

Was she living in a state that was basically named after wolves? Was Tether the epicenter of a wolf-demic, as the rancher said?

And if she was, why hadn’t she heard anything about it?

 

Leave a Reply

