Book Blitz | Daring the Bad Boy by Monica Murphy

unspecified (2)31357008

Title // Daring the Bad Boy
Author // Monica Murphy
Pages // 230 pages
Publisher // Entangled: Crush
Series // Endless Summer
Release Date // August 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Truth or Dare was never this much fun…

Annie McFarland is sick of being a shy nobody. A session at summer camp seems like the perfect opportunity to reinvent herself—gain some confidence, kiss a boy, be whoever she wants to be. A few days in, she’s already set her sights on über-hottie Kyle. Too bad her fear of water keeps her away from the lake, where Kyle is always hanging out.

Jacob Fazio is at Camp Pine Ridge after one too many screw-ups. Junior counseling seems like punishment enough, but the rigid no-fraternizing-with-campers rules harsh his chill. When a night of Truth or Dare gets him roped into teaching Annie how to swim, she begs him to also teach her how to snag Kyle.

Late-night swim sessions turn into late-night kissing sessions…but there’s more on the line than just their hearts. If they get caught, Jake’s headed straight to juvie, but Annie’s more than ready to dare him to reveal the truth.

b o r d e r

Of course, it is becoming increasingly evident that Entangled Crush books occupy a lot of my time. This summer, they have easily made up 40% of my overall reading scale and quite a few of their titles are listed as reviews on this blog. Therefore, it was only obviously that I would get my hands on the new collection – Endless Summer. Yes, I did, with a massive thanks to Entangled: Crush themselves, and was given the fantastic opportunity to read the books early. Of course this isn’t an opportunity I’m going to let go of, so I agreed and this brings us to today. Monica Murphy has really struck gold with her lighthearted and funny tale of romance on a summer camp. Growing up I spent time in summer bible camp (I know, cringey), so relationships were pretty much not accepted. That and the fact most of us were more bothered about inflatable bouncy castles and sweet treats. Lemme tell you, this book was refreshing because I don’t think anyone was ever dating at my summer camp.

With the way she’s fretting over my leaving, I realise she needs to cut the umbilical cord sometime.

I’ve mentioned it before, and I’ll mention it again. Entangled: Crush books help ease me back into reading. That is the beauty of their writing style and one of the main reasons why I adore the books. If I could have one thing in the world, well, I’d have all the books, but Entangled: Crush would all be sat on my bookshelf. Monica Murphy didn’t stray away from the norm with the story and I absolutely welcomed it. The plot was pretty basic, in all honesty, but that was exactly what I was wanting. Another thing I found great about the book was the fact that there were two viewpoints – Annie and Jacob. The contrasting personalities and the different thoughts and opinions helped to develop the story and keep it fresh and interesting. I was afraid that the story would have one personality, which can sometimes drag in these basic stories that Entangled provide. I was wrong, and that made me incredibly happy.

She was definitely better than the tool. She was probably better than me, too.

Characters throughout the story were quite strong. Normally they tend to be pretty two-dimensional, but this wasn’t the case with Daring the Bad Boy. Annie was a pretty sweet character and was probably relatable to every bookworm to ever grace this planet. We read about love and adventure, and Annie was brave enough to go out there and take the risk, no matter how foolish or how alone she felt. The girl had guts. This is the type of girl we should be idolising in society – not the girl with dyed hair, a teeny wait and the breasts that are so obviously implants. Annie restored a little sense of adventure in me, and made me wish that I was an American so I could experience Fozzy Bear’s summer camp. Jacob is your bad boy of the story, and all the ladies will be with me when I say that a bad boy is sexy. They’re that rare breed of hard outside but soft and sweet in the middle. Oh, and every girl wants to be responsible for taming one. Maybe that’s why I felt a little bit of envy towards Annie, because she somehow manages to get him right where she wants him. But honestly, Jacob is just a boy who lost his mum and craved attention from his dad. I feel that, not because I’ve been in his shoes or anything. God no, I’ve had a brilliant upbringing. I just understand his need to be around people. So yes, the characters were brilliant.

And I knew, without a doubt, I’d done more than just fall into the water. I’d fallen for the girl.

I’m going to leave the review right here because I want you to go and purchase a digital copy of this story. Read it, dig it and lemme know exactly what you thought. Because I absolutely adored this story, from the beginning to the end!

4 stars

b o r d e r

e x c e r p t :

A n n i e

Great. The rudest boy at camp just so happened to save my life. I hoped he wasn’t one of those types who expected me to be indebted to him for the rest of the summer or whatever.

I looked away and coughed, water filling my mouth so I had no choice but to avert my head and spit it out. My cheeks felt hot, and I couldn’t believe I was embarrassed, but old habits died hard, I guess.

He said nothing, just grabbed my hand and walked/ dragged me the rest of the way out of the water, until we were standing on the sandy beach. I heard feet thumping on the dock and I glanced up, watched in disbelief as the majority of my so-called friends and the boys from B7B ran off the dock. Not a one of them had stayed behind to see if I was okay.

Not a single one of them.

Were they scared they’d get in trouble? Would Jacob rat me out? He was the director’s nephew, after all. I needed to say something to him. I didn’t want to get in trouble. I didn’t want to be sent home, and I’m pretty sure he had the power to make both things happen.

Before I could say anything, though, Jacob grabbed my shoulders and gave them a little shake so I’d look up at him. His eyes were dark, his mouth set in a grim line, and he bent his knees a little so our gazes were even. “You really all right?” he asked, his tone firm.

I’d quit coughing, but my voice still came out slightly wheezy. “I’m fine.” My bones felt like jelly and I thought I might pass out from lack of oxygen, but yeah. I was great.

He squeezed my bare shoulders with his big hands, his fingers sliding over my thin bikini straps, and I realized I’d never stood this close to a boy before with so little clothing on. A shiver moved through me, and I tried to take a step back for much-needed distance, but he wouldn’t let me go.

“That was really stupid, jumping off the dock like that,” he said, his deep voice now full of irritation.

“Trust me, I wasn’t trying to impress you.” I couldn’t believe I’d said that. But I was offended that he basically just called me stupid.

“No kidding.” He released his hold on my shoulders and walked a few steps away, snatching up something off the beach. “And I definitely wasn’t impressed.”

I made an incredulous sound, one I usually saved for the privacy of my bedroom when no one else was around, and he sent me a look. I was reluctant to admit it was sort of a cute look, his dark eyebrows raised, as if he dared me to contradict him.

So I did.

“Are you going to write me up?” When he still said nothing, I continued. “You said you would earlier.” I glanced around, noticed that the dock was completely empty. Where was Kelsey, anyway? Did she leave me, too? “You want me to?” “N-no. O-of c-course n-not.” My teeth had started to chatter. I didn’t know if it was from the cold or the shock, or a combination of both, but I couldn’t make them stop.

“Did you bring a towel with you at least?” Jacob asked. When I shook my head, he muttered something that sounded distinctly like a curse word starting with the letter F. The sympathetic look he shot my way was surprising as he came back toward me, his hand thrust outward, a ball of fabric clutched in it. “Take this.”

I didn’t want him feeling sorry for me. And that didn’t look like a towel. “Wh-what i-is it?” I wrapped my arms around my middle, my fingers brushing against my goosebump-covered torso. I couldn’t stop shaking. It was like I had no control over my body.

He sighed and glanced to his left, then his right, like he wanted to make sure there was no one around before he stepped forward and stretched the dark fabric between his hands. “Don’t move,” he ordered, his tone bossy as he yanked the fabric over my head.

I jerked against his first touch, but otherwise I remained still. It was a giant hoodie that he slipped over my head. Warm and soft and a little sandy from when he’d abandoned it on the beach. The fabric clung to my damp skin and the hem fell to my thighs, covering me from my neck to almost my knees. I shoved my arms in the sleeves but they were so long, they swallowed my hands completely, even when I stretched my fingers out.

He stepped closer and reached behind my head, pulling the hood up so that it covered my soaked hair. Then he grabbed hold of the strings at the sweatshirt’s neck and tugged on them, so the hood cinched around my face tightly, his gaze never leaving mine. “Better?”

I nodded and took a deep breath, the shivering starting to subside, thank goodness. “Much.”

Jacob reached out and wiped one cheek, then the other, his thumb rough yet warm against my chilled skin. “You’re still wet.”

“I should p-probably take a shower.” I clamped my freezing lips shut. Why did I just say that? Showers meant naked, and I didn’t want to talk about getting naked with Jacob.

unspecified )

b o r d e r

g i v e a w a y

I do have to apologise to all my fellow UK people, the giveaway is exclusive to the US apaz. I know, it sucks a lot. Yet to my reader who are eligible to enter the competition, may the odds be ever in your favor.

< <  c l i c k y c l i c k  > >

unspecified (1)

Leave a Reply

