Review | The Memory Book by Lara Avery

25988934

Title | The Memory Book
Author | Lara Avery
Pages | 368 pages
Publisher | Alloy Entertainment
Series | None
Release Date | July 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.

Sammie was always a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as humanly possible. Nothing will stand in her way–not even a rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly start to steal her memories and then her health. What she needs is a new plan.

So the Memory Book is born: Sammie’s notes to her future self, a document of moments great and small. It’s where she’ll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime crush, Stuart–a brilliant young writer who is home for the summer. And where she’ll admit how much she’s missed her childhood best friend, Cooper, and even take some of the blame for the fight that ended their friendship.

Through a mix of heartfelt journal entries, mementos, and guest posts from friends and family, readers will fall in love with Sammie, a brave and remarkable girl who learns to live and love life fully, even though it’s not the life she planned.

boreder

There is an endless stream of curse words leaving my mouth at the minute as I wipe my blurry eyes and my soaked cheeks. Why the hell do I put myself through books like this? Why do I crush myself like this? Why is Lara Avery such a good write

Its currently 1:22am on a Monday morning. The Lord knows I should be asleep for my bust day, but for some reason I decided to hit the next book on my July TBR – The Memory Book. I didn’t have many expectations from this book. I had more or less discarded it. Lemme just tell you this. I am a fool. The plot is such a brilliant mix of wonderful and heartbreaking that I just. cannot. cope. Having got to the end of the novel, I am sobbing uncontrollably. Why? Why have you done this to me Lara Avery? The issues of dementia and NCP are ones that the YA spectrum never seems to touch. This being my second book in this field (and the second this month, may I add), I can’t help but feel pride that YA authors are expanding the horizons and shining a light on some real hard hitting issues.

My heart absolutely broke for Sammie. The day a doctor tells me I have dementia or any disease that strips your memory, then I fear my life will be over. The sheer determination that Sammie shows is so admirable. Although part of it stems from her denial of her disease, I feel that her hamartia is a flaw that we can accept graciously. Despite all that her life is throwing at her, she still manages to come out on top and show the world that she is a bright star. Which makes your heartbreak even more. Even characters such as Cooper (Coop) and Stuart were highly likeable, with their own depth and detailing too.

Form of the book was absolutely brilliant. J adored how Lara Avery took the conventional idea of a journal and made it unique. She made it work to suit Sammie’s condition. As a while the book was easy and quick to read, getting through it in maybe three hours tops? Each minute kept you engaged, something that a lot of authors take for granted nowadays.

The book had such a beautiful cover that will no doubt draw in readers. I want to buy a physical copy, so more Amazon shopping is on the cards. Honestly, the best thing you can do is read this book. I’m glad I did!

5 starsboreder
Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.
Cheyenne @ Cheyenne Wright says “This one pulls you in from the start.”
Samantha @ Reed’s Reads & Reviews says “The originality and ease of story telling was impeccable. YOU GO LARA AVERY!”
Sophie @ The Mind of the Book Dragon says “I couldn’t be happier with this book!”
borederUsually a book goes through several cover changes in its lifetime. Most variation depends on the publishing location. The Memory Book is available in the following cover formats.
Stalk Our Social Media
4 thoughts on “Review | The Memory Book by Lara Avery

Leave a Reply

