Review | Cheerleading Can Be Murder by Carissa Ann Lynch

29427200

Title | Cheerleading Can Be Murder
Author | Carissa Ann Lynch
Pages | 200 pages
Publisher | Limitless Publishing
Series | Horror High, #1
Release Date | April 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Getting on the cheerleading squad is hard enough without a psycho on the loose…

For Harrow High freshman Dakota Densford, life should be easy. All she has to worry about is talking to cute boys and remembering her locker combination. But when cheerleading tryouts draw near, she learns the cards are stacked against her—spots on the varsity team are limited. Dakota faces her competition head-on, but when her life is threatened, that takes the competition to a whole new level.

High school is never easy, and freshman year is off to a rough start…

Between Dakota’s uniform being ripped up and masked vandals trashing another girl’s house, everyone is suspect. To complicate matters further, Dakota has a thing for Andy McGraw, but she finds him locking lips with another girl.

The harassment continues, and when Dakota finds suspicious flyers inside her best friend’s locker, she doesn’t know what to think. The principal’s unfeeling, overachiever daughter, Brittani Barlow, will do anything to secure her place on the team. But Dakota’s neighbor, on the other hand, definitely fits the profile of a sociopath.

Cheerleading has become a game of life or death.

boreder

If I were to describe Cheerleading Can Be Murder, which I guess I kinda am doing, then I would definitely brand it a thriller horror. The sociopathic nature of the story and the violence used would certainly suggest that.

What sucks about this book was the fact that whole I normally detest all types of horror, gore and jumpy-type stories, I had expectations above the limit for this novel. The plot sounded absolutely bloody fantastic. There’s a certainly an air of originality about the idea that was presented by the book – something props has to be given for. But in all my honesty, the book did ultimately let me down, thus my disappointment. I expected a homicidal maniac who had clear intentions and very clear reasonings. Yet this novel provided neither.

As I mentioned, the idea was amazing. I just feel that the execution of the story feels more first-draft than finished novel. I know how harsh that sounds and I’ve been mulling this over for days. But trust me when I at this, because I do not say it lightly. I think the author should take this back to the drawing board and give it a little bit of depth and a whole ton of reality – because from my viewpoint, this novel lacks in both of those departments.

The main characters seemed very choppy and two-dimensional. They had little depth and background to them, and at times felt very much forced. I had to roll my eyes when one character was unnecessarily rude. It just wasn’t something that was needed. In telling the story from the sociopaths side, the writer did a great job. There was mystery, homicidal thoughts and even the odd bit of clues to help you try and assume who could possibly be willing to hurt the cheerleaders. Yet even certain aspects of the sociopath felt strained – when really it should have come as second nature considering the themes of the book.

While I personally didn’t enjoy this book, I would Stoll advise you to check it out. The author spent time writing this, and while it was not my cup of tea, their is nothing to stop your opinion from juxtaposing mine. Because of all that I have mentioned above, I feel the book can only get a 1 out of 5 snowflakes. Sometimes these things happen – but I will be reading the authors next work to see whether the same thing has happened there or not.

1 starStalk Our Social Media

 

Leave a Reply

