Review // Sing by Vivi Greene

27246877
Title // Sing
Author // Vivi Greene
Pages // 279 pages
Publisher // HarperCollins
Series // None
Release Date // May 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

America’s most famous pop star flees the spotlight to recover from her latest break-up in Maine—only to fall for a local boy and be faced with an impossible choice at the end of the summer: her new guy, or her music.

Multiplatinum pop icon Lily Ross’s biggest hits and biggest heartbreaks (because they are one and the same):

1. AGONY. (That feeling when her ex ripped her heart out of her chest and she never saw it coming.)
2. GHOSTS. (Because even famous people are ghosted by guys sometimes. And it sucks just as much.)
3. ONCE BITTEN. (As in: twice shy. Also, she’s never dating an actor or a musician ever again.)

But this summer’s going to be different. After getting her heart shattered, Lily is taking herself out of the spotlight and heading to a small island in middle-of-nowhere Maine with her closest friends. She has three months until her fall tour starts-three months to focus on herself, her music, her new album. Anything but guys.

That is . . . until Lily meets sweet, down-to-earth local Noel Bradley, who is so different from anyone she’s ever dated. Suddenly, Lily’s “summer of me” takes an unexpected turn, and she finds herself falling deeper and harder than ever before. But Noel isn’t interested in the limelight. She loves Noel-but she loves her fans, too. And come August, she may be forced to choose.

boreder

Music, summer and a romance that will sweep you off your feet – Sing is the perfect summer read for this hot days in the sun.

A book which has been heavily emphasized for the past month or so is Sing by Vivi Greene. Curiosity struck back in May when I was offered the chance to read an exclusive six-chapter sniper of the book. Oh my little lovelies, I was impressed. Instantly I added the book to my Goodreads list and heavily anticipated the chance to read the novel fully. While I received that offer and gratefully accepted it, I had to push the actual reading onto the back burner for personal reasons – or at least, until today.

Lily, the main protagonist of the story is a superstar singer who constantly finds her heart being broken. Her description, current lifestyle and appearance on the cover of the book constantly makes me think of Taylor Swift and the agro that she has to deal with. As a proud Swiftie, I feel she is so easily judged due to media portrayal and ex’s opinions. That was something that made me click with this particular story. I’m not a sensation, a singer or pretty and famous. Heck, I’m not even a size 8 at the minute, but I couldn’t help but feel compelled to read Lily’s story. Sure it helps that I’m a sucker for romance, and a helpless romantic at heart but you know – that’s life.

The book doesn’t move too fast or too slow, maintaining what I can only describe as a perfect pace throughout. It was refreshing to find a book where the ending hadn’t been rushed, and the whole story plot for Sing had very obviously been planned out well. Of not, then you have some serious skills Ms Greene! Sing wasn’t a very complex book either. While it was quite long to read, not considering that I had it spaced out over several weeks, I found it easy to keep up with. Heck, I hadn’t read the book for a month and I was still able to identify the ups and downs to the point I had paused. Now it is a special book that can do that, especially when I had been reading other stories in between.

As for the cover, I feel like the minimalist movement of a girl with blonde hair and red lips suits the book perfectly. It screams popstar but at the same time doesn’t make you assume that she is spoilt or stuck up – a trait I was glad to see scrapped. Sing lived up to my expectations, so I gladly award it a 5 out of 5 snowflakes. Well done, Vivi Greene.

5 starsboreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Yana @ The Quidnunc says “Sing by Vivi Greene: was exactly what I expected, in a good way, I think…”

Kathy @ A Glass of Wine says “Sing offers a sweet look at a summer romance

3 thoughts on “Review // Sing by Vivi Greene

Leave a Reply

