Review // Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

not okay cupid

Title // Not Okay, Cupid
Author // Heidi R. Kling
Pages // 234 pages
Publisher // Entangled: Crush
Series // None
Release Date // January 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart…

Hazel McCallister loves her life. Perfect grades. Perfect best friend. Perfect boyfriend. Until her perfect boyfriend cheats on her with her perfect best friend. Now Hazel’s in free fall—until her best friend’s brother, Felix, gives her the perfect idea. Reclaim her power by taking revenge on her cheating ex.

Felix James loves his life. Casual relationships. Loads of surfing. He’s as drama-free as they come. But he can’t stand by when his sister steals her best friend’s boyfriend, and the dude insists it was Hazel’s fault. So Felix vows to help turn Hazel into a girl her ex can’t resist—so then she can break his heart.

With an alliance in place, Hazel’s revenge is all but assured. But with each piece of payback, she feels a stronger attraction to Felix, even though revenge will turn her into a girl Felix could never be with. And soon Hazel has to make an impossible choice: revenge…or Felix, the boy who’s stolen her heart.

boreder

Looking for that perfect little romance novel? Want cute and airy? Look no further, because Heidi R. Kling has you covered.

“Oh, yes. You know me,” Felix said, but a flash of something crossed his eyes—hurt? No way. Not Felix.

If you regularly read this blog, you’ll notice that for a British girl, I read a lot of American publishing house Entangled books. They’re usually cure and sweet and just what I need to get me out and over a book hangover. Perfect right? Yet I found that Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling managed to hit the spot right where I need it, while the others barely managed to find it.

“Haven’t you heard? Revenge is the best medicine for heartbreak.”

Felix and Hazel decided to get revenge on Hazel’s ex, who has up and left her for her best friend. It’s an absolute rubbish thing to do, or to have done to you, and I don’t think I’d ever allow a man to treat me as such. But still, Hazel decides to us Felix, her best friends brother to hurt her ex. A little bit silly of you ask me, because revenge always ends in feelings. Don’t pretend to date because it becomes real without realising. That’s obvious. While the plot does seem a bit child-like, it is effectively portrayed and allows the romance to just ooze out – sort of like mousse in a chocolate cake.

It is a difficult matter to keep love imprisoned.

The characters are cute and have a little depth, but their depth seems to let the book down a bit. I would describe the as an ‘airy’ read because its light and soppy – something to encounter if you just need a bit of fluff or have a few hours to spare (e.g train journeys). As usual, I read before I go to bed, so reading this soothed me and made me feel quite happy. Felix is a sweety and Hazel you just want to hug. They do make an adorable couple, even if they aren’t brought together in the most normal way.

I’d advise you all to give this book a try. The cute nature of it made me smile uncontrollably, so I definitely recommend it if you need a pick me up. I have to admit that I am now interested in Heidi’s other works, so stay tuned for more reviews on her work in the near future.

4 starsboreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Poulami @ Daydreaming Books saysNot Okay, Cupid was a pretty good read.”

Kate @ Me, My Books and I saysNot Okay Cupid was a fun and sweet read.”

Cris @ My Tiny Obssessions says “This book made me laugh… out loud… in very public places!

Stalk Our Social Media

Leave a Reply

