Monthly Summary // June Recap

What I can’t believe is that we are now officially halfway through the year. Geez, who saw that coming right? Also, the weather now compared with the start of the month is bismal. Give me back the sun! Please?

This month has been incredibly bust for me however, considering I’m a British student. I’ve just finished my A-Levels, confirmed my place at university and thoroughly sucked my bank account dry. I take comfort in the fact that payday is one week away.

Since I’ve been revising, my time has been spent on studying rather than reading, so my read pile for this month is shocking and low. I feel so ashamed, but proud at the same time. It took everything in me to not read all day and every day.

Can I just add that my bookshelf has grown over June. In this month alone, I have purchased a solid 50-60 books – with the most expensive being £7 Cecelia Ahern’s ‘Flawed’ and the cheapest being Anna Todd’s ‘After’ at 25p. Ah, the perks of charity shops my lovelies.

1. Shining Sea – a book that was most definitely out of my comfort zone, I found the novel interesting and compelling. I just wish it didn’t end.

2. Wintergirls – cracking out an earlier novel, Wintergirls is definitely an eye opener. If you’re oblivious to the teenage world of body imaging and self harming, this book is most definitely going to show the reality.

3. Aimee and the Heartthrob – like many Entangled: Crush, I found this particular story short but sweet. The characters were likable but no lasting impression was made.

4. Playing the Player – not a favourite or a possible re-read. My opinion is staying fixed at a no on this one.

5. White Noise – after a serious book hangover, this novel did sort of drain me mentally. It was a good read, but not a genre I would touch again after encountering this novel.

6. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown – simply 😍😍😍😍

7. The Girlfriend Request – if I had to summarise in one word – meh. Cute little summer read, but no real depth or development. Sweet romance though.

8. The Cabin – it’s a Natasha Preston book, so its bound to be fantastic. Right down my alley, The Cabin give me shivers, tingles and bumps.

9. The Witch’s Kiss – a perfect story about witches, romance and history. Geez, I’m fangirling over it two weeks later. And it’s officially in the shops, so go buy!

10. Shooter – reminded me a bit of This Is How It Ends, which really out me off. Yet this is more developed and much more believable. Not a regret to read this book.

11. Big Fat Liar – literally a funny book that will make you smile most of the time. Also, such a cute romance.

So there you have it, I read eleven books this month. As well as this, I was tagged in the Liebster Award – a post which is pending – and will be hosting a blog tour next month.

There so much to be looking forward to, so keep checking back.

Leave a Reply

