Review // The Witch’s Kiss by Katharine & Elizabeth Corr

cover83338-medium
Title // The Witch’s Kiss
Author // Katharine & Elizabeth Corr
Pages // 424 pages
Publisher // HarperCollins UK
Series // None
Release Date // June 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Sixteeen-year-old Meredith is fed-up with her feuding family and feeling invisible at school – not to mention the witch magic that shoots out of her fingernails when she’s stressed.

Then sweet, sensitive Jack comes into her life and she falls for him hard. The only problem is that he is periodically possessed by a destructive centuries-old curse. Meredith has lost her heart, but will she also lose her life?

Or in true fairytale tradition, can true love’s kiss save the day?

boreder

If I told you that I knew what I was stepping into when I read ‘The Witch’s Kiss‘, then I’d be lying. But what isn’t a lie, is the fact that this book is an amazing story and is probably one of the greatest fantasy books I have encountered in my lifetime.

And she gasped, not because his eyes were beautiful, but because they were hard and cold and full of cruelty.

Fantasy has never been my top pick in a genre of a book. Sure, growing up I adored the Harry Potter series, but my taste never really differed from this. Until now. The plot of ‘The Witch’s Kiss‘ is totally original and deserves some serious appraisal. I’ve never even heard of a book with a plot that is this amazing! Seen as how it was a fantasy book, I was largely dubious about reading. However, as soon as I started reading the novel, I found my interest spiked and my like increasing. Cleverly, the authors have used the idea of an old legend to reproduce an action packed story.

Merry smiled. Tonight, at least, she was going to be a completely normal teenager.

Merry was adorable. I adored her. It is that simple. She is the embodiment of modern teenage girls – only with the twist of her being a dab hand in witchcraft. She might make a lot of bad decisions on her youth, but don’t we all? The novel highlights her development as a person, which makes people fall in love with her even more. Her brother Leo is also adorable. Maybe its a family thing? I loved who the two authors had managed to capture the characters in a 3D aspect, giving them depth and meaning. Leo is everything a girl would want in a brother. Whole his first impression is a questionable one, his defensive nature around Merry and his sheer caring behaviour makes him a diamond in the rough.

‘Forgive me, Merry. If you can.’ Then he hurled the sword at Gwydion.

The book was slow in places, admittedly, but it didn’t deter my interest. The book does have a nice pace to it, and leaves no stone upturned. The end answers all questions but one, and the promise of a sequel only makes this book more enticing. I’ll be honest and admit that it’s going to take a lot of action in the next story to par with this one. The Witch’s Kiss is an amazing story that I would highly recommend. It took slightly longer to read than usual, but the time invested is more than worth it. 5 out 5 snowflakes.

5 starsborederStalk Our Social Media

Leave a Reply

