Review // The Girlfriend Request by Jodie Andrefski

28100441

Title // The Girlfriend Request
Author // Jodie Andrefski
Pages // 216 pages
Publisher // Entangled: Crush
Series // None
Release Date // January 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Updating best friend to girlfriend is more than a change of status…

Emma has been best friends with Eli since she moved to his neighborhood ten years ago. Tired of being cast in the role of the girl next door, Emma creates a fake Facebook profile in the hopes of starting an online friendship with Eli, which would hopefully lead to more. Like…way more. From friend request to In a Relationship–it all seemed so completely logical when she’d planned it.

Eli can’t figure out what Emma is up to. He’s pretty sure she’s the one behind the Facebook profile, but then again, why would she do something so drastic instead of just admitting she wants to be more than friends? And who the heck is this new guy he saw her with? Eli starts to think that just maybe…he missed his chance with the girl next door.

Two best friends, one outlandish ruse. Their status is about to become way more than It’s Complicated…

This Entangled Teen Crush book contains one fake Facebook profile, two best friends who secretly crave each other, and a dreaded sex talk with parents…boy crush in the room included. Pushing a relationship beyond the friend zone has never been so crazy…

boreder

Looking for something cute to read? got a journey coming up, PR just really want to be reminded of young, careless love? Then The Girlfriend Request is something you should be interested.

And I knew everything really was perfect, just like our song.

So I have to hold my hands up and say that the plot may not be the greatest things since sliced bread. I mean, the protagonist decides to create a fake Facebook profile, just to try and get her crush/best friend to realise he has feelings. I mean, come on. That’s a little illogical and a tad wrong. Emma is practically catfishing her crush! I can see Nev and Max standing with a camera crew for this one! So yes, the plot is a bit preposterous. The reactions to this are fairly relaxed as well. Now if my best friend had been catfishing me, then there would be we trouble.

I burst into tears. Because it felt like a goodbye, no matter what he said. I also cried because deep down, I was afraid he might be right.

The character of Emma felt a little bit flat and dare I say it, whiny. Her conflicted emotions and her nonsensical behaviour throughout the story seems to contradict her otherwise mentioned ‘smart’ personality. Yet I consider that love makes you stupid, and crazy, and blind. But I still have to hold up my hands and say – why does Emma have no sense? As a character, she felt flat and two-dimensional. There was little depth to her, which makes the reader feel quite detached. Eli seemed sweet, and he did peg ‘jealous stereotype A’ down to a peg, but I still didn’t fall in love with him myself. Much like Emma, he is a flat character with little background or interest.

Covering my face with my hands, I whispered, “Things cannot get any worse.” Until they did.

While I appreciated the fast-paced nature of the book, parts of it did feel rushed or missing. I feel like the speed of the book pulled away the enjoyment of the reader because it’s a story that is finished within an hour, two hours tops. On the contrary, the speed makes the story a nice little read to take with you on holidays or short journeys. Taking the book on its face value, it is a story in which readers will enjoy and swoon over easily. Yet it is not a story that cannot be critiqued or taken as anything more than a romance.

The past couple of days had certainly been a rollercoaster. Now, to just keep myself from falling out of the cart. I could do this. We would talk, and things would be okay.

Concluding this, I would advise you to read The Girlfriend Request if you are wanting to kill time. It’s a cute little story worthy of your time, and will leave you feeling warm and mushy inside. Just don’t try to analyse it or go into depth, because you will grow frustrated like I do. 3 out of 5 snowflakes.

3 starsboreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Fatima @ Book Whizz says “This isn’t for me, though.”

Books Glorious Books says “All in all I liked this read for what it is.”

Lyn @ Reading Tsinoy says “It is a nice read if you have nothing else to do.”

Stalk Our Social Media

Leave a Reply

