June Challenge // Day 07 ‘Book Addiction’

Hello, my name is Cody and I’m eighteen years old. I’m also *takes deep breath* a book addict. *waits for claps*

Yes, I must admit that I have seriously fallen in love with reading, and my ebook hoarding ways are no longer good enough. No, I’m gathering print books. I’ve worked out that in the past seven days of June, I have purchased THIRTEEN books. I kid you not folks. Today I found myself buying three more paperbacks – but they were 25p each!!

d a y  0 7 – 0 7 . 0 6 . 1 6

P O C + p i n k  b o o k s

I did have to google what POC stood for, because I’m just the dense. If you’re like me, then here you go follow weird ones. If not, skip ahead.

P O C –

Abbreviation of ‘people of colour’ – relates to the ethnicity or race of a character in a book.

t h e  c h a l l e n g e s –

t h e  p o s t

IMG_20160607_223206.jpg

One for the first YA series I ever read was Malorie Blackman’s ‘Naughts and Crosses’. I found it in my school library and checked out all the books. I found them honest, captivating and eye-opening. Persephone, one of the protagonists easily became a favourite POC character for me, because she looked beyond colour in a society where that held certain groups back.

Of course, Cassandra Clare’s ‘The Mortal Instruments’ came in second with the exotic Magnus Bane. He’s such a wholesome character, and I adore his portrayal in Shadowhunters.

What’s your favourite POC character? Let me know below or hit me up @childishlypassionate on IG and share the love ❤

Leave a Reply

