Review // The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

12813630
Title // The Coldest Girl in Coldtown
Author // Holly Black
Pages // 419 pages
Publisher // Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Series // None
Release Date // September 2013
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

boreder

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was probably one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Refreshing, new and a twist on the vampire cliche, Holly Black has mastered the art of refined writing for the YA category. She has earned herself an eager fan, and I am currently buying myself a physical copy from amazon.

The tan carpet was stiff and black with stripes of dried blood, spattered like a Jackson Pollock canvas.

There is such originality in this novel that makes it something I have to swoon over. The plot is original, taking on the classic vampire story and making it something new and exciting. Vampire are taking over the world, out in the open. Something which drew me in was the idea of there being much murder. After the first chapter, I was drawn. That was it. I was a moth to a flame, and now I’m completely stuck in love with The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. It has a believable plot, with you routing for the main characters all the way through. Fair to say, this book is an adventure that will take you and your heart along. Granted there will be heart-thumping moments, and bits where you feel like giving up. Four hundred and nineteen pages is a quite big read, but trust me when I say EVERY singe page is worth reading, because the story is not something that you want to miss.

“If you let me borrow your car for tonight, I promise I will repay you.”

“Oh yeah?” she asked, looking at him, with his bare feet and plain, dark clothes. “With what?”

The smile stayed on his lips. “Jewels, lies, slips of paper, dried flowers, memories of things long past, useless quotations, idle hands, beads, buttons, and mischief.”

You can’t help but like the characters in the story. Tana is your heroine that you practically want to hug at times. She’s had it pretty tough, and the world she lives in isn’t the idea place. Her experiences would have made anyone crack, but she somehow seems to be stronger than everyone else. Her feelings for Gavriel, who is literally the new definition of perfect, is adorably obvious. Gavriel is your bad boy with a dark, twisted past. He’s mad, absolutely raving loony, but around Tana he’s a better person and that appealed to me. Yet, there is the constant reminder that Gavriel is nothing more than a monster, a killer, ad the reality of that is comforting to read. The romance that is wrapped up in the novel is subtle but sweet. But above all, it doesn’t romanticize vampires, unlike other YA novels of my time. Heck, Holly Black even makes you like Aiden, one of the people you should want to punch in the face. Through depth and excellent portrayal, the characters come to life on their own, their journey, adventures and struggles as believable as they are. Some of the secondary characters, including Midnight, Winter and Lucien are still incredibly well built and purpose into the novel well. Why this book hasn’t won numerous awards, I’ll never know.

One way or another we all wind up dead.” Gavriel said, his eyes on Aiden.

My biggest love for this book is the fat that Holly Black has taken the tired paranormal cliche and has made it completely exciting and relevant. There are countless vampire stories available, but somehow this one manages to stand out simply because of how new and real the story is. The author has written such a wonderful piece of work that deserves to be praised. Before this book, I had only ever really liked Richelle Mead’s ‘Vampire Academy’ and maybe Stephanie Meyer’s ‘Twilight’ saga. While I don’t think the vampire genre is for me, Holly Black has given me a little piece of it to love for the rest of my being.

Caspar Morales had stolen the fire from Prometheus, and his children were spreading it.

Fair to admit that the cover for this novel is beautiful, I was originally drawn in by the trailer that was published on a fellow blogger’s website post. If you read my blog regularly, you will understand that I’m a bit of a maniac in terms of adoring murder mystery or general mystery novels. From the trailer, this book looked like a mystery. While Goodreads brands this a horror, I would doubt that. I found this book utterly thrilling, and the fast paced tempo it had helped me keep my interest. The ended was one in which I welcomed, and I found myself pouting at the end because it was over. Seen as how this was one of my favourite books of all time, books I read now will have a lot to measure up to in order to reach a high standard of excellence. So well done Holly Black, you just set the bar very high!

And horribly, in that moment, she thought of Gavriel watching her leave the glass ballroom. Gavriel, who had seemed utterly mad but who’d known exactly what he was doing the whole time. Gavriel, who’d put aside revenge for a little while to go on an adventure with her.

Naturally, I cannot give this book anything below a five, because that would be completely wrong. You NEED to go out and buy this book for yourself, because it is just that damn good.

The trailer is below, and will make you want to read the book. You have been warned!

5 starsboreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Carrie @ Smart Bitches Trashy Books says “I’m Team Tana, all the way.”

Ana @ The Book Smugglers says “This novel is exquisite.”

Jia @ Dear Author says “I thought the ending was perfect.”

Stalk Our Social Media

5 thoughts on “Review // The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Leave a Reply

