Review // Playing the Player by Lisa Brown Roberts

25819482
Title // Playing the Player
Author // Lisa Brown Roberts
Pages // 400 pages
Publisher // Entangled: Crush
Series // None
Release Date // September 2015
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

The Good Girl Vs. The Player
Round one begins…

Trina Clemons needed the money. Why else would she – the most organized, prepared student in school – spend the summer as a nanny and partner with the biggest slacker ever? Now she’s ready to tackle nannyhood with her big binder of research and schedules. Just don’t ask her about the secret job of “fixing” the bad habits of a certain high school player…

Slade Edmunds prefers easy hook-ups, and Trina is definitelynot his type. She’s all structure and rules, while Slade wants to just have fun. Fortunately, Trina has no idea about the bet Slade made with his best friend that he can totally get her to unwind by the end of summer…

Then the weirdest thing happens. There’s chemistry. A lot of it.
But nothing gets between a boy and a girl like a big, fat secret…

boreder

Classy, cute and a fun read, Playing the Player is a book which takes little time to read but is something that will refresh your like of contemporary romance novels.

Apparently when Slade activated their golden power, half the girls in my school willingly peeled off their panties.

The plot was very much cliche, in terms of that the good girl falls for the popular, gorgeous bad boy who also plays girls. While I do like the cliche, I think it has to be done very well to earn a high rating. In all honesty, this book was a struggle to read due to the plot. As the plot is cliche, you do find the story quite predictable. But I don’t believe this was the fault of the writer. I just believe that ‘bad boy player meets good girl’ is a little bit overtired.

It would take a lot more than gorgeous eyes to get me out of my underwear.

The pace of the novel was very slow. I found myself seeing how many pages were left quite often. Which sucks. I also found myself predicting a lot of the actions of the characters – something else that I hate. The characters of Trina and Slade were very much your average teenage characters. I found they lacked depth and direction, and the only thing that made me like them was the chemistry between the two.

Trina was as exotic as Wonder Bread.

As sad as it is to admit, my experience with Playing the Player was not the best that it could have been. While I adored the cover, I didn’t like the plot, the characters or even the pace. I continued to the end to find out if I’d be proven wrong, but sadly wasn’t. I won’t advise you not to read the book, because my opinion may be invalid. All I will say is read with caution. Playing the Player earned 2 out of 5 snowflakes.

I wondered if this was how it felt to sell your soul to the devil. I bet there were awesome cookies in hell, too.

image
boreder

Still unsure of whether this book is the one for you? See what other bloggers had to say.

Jenni @ rurounijennireads says “The book made my toes curl from start to finish.”

Michaela @ Michael Wills Writes says “My recommendation: BUY THIS BOOK.”

Raven @ Dreaming Addiction says “I highly recommend this book.”

Stalk Our Social Media

Leave a Reply

