Review // They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire

51ivzb6ri4l-_sx332_bo1204203200_

Title // They All Fall Down
Author // Roxanne St. Claire
Pages // 341 pages
Publisher // Delacorte Press
Series // None
Release Date // October 2014
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Every year, the lives of ten junior girls at Vienna High are transformed.
All because of the list.
Kenzie Summerall can t imagine how she s been voted onto a list of the prettiest girls in school, but when she lands at number five, her average life becomes dazzling. Doors open to the best parties, new friends surround her, the cutest jock in school is after her.
This is the power of the list. If you re on it, your life changes.
If you re on it this year? Your life “ends.”

boreder

If there is one genre that I adore more than in the fictional world, then it has to be my murder mystery books. While my average reading speed on a book is around 5 to 6 hours, a murder mystery only takes around 3. Maybe its because the keep my attention. They All Fall Down was definitely a story that kept my attention, and is certainly a book that I advise you all to read.

I don’t want to fear life-I want to live it.

As a fairly older story, They All Fall Down is a compelling tale about loss, murder and a list that is all but a hit list. Is fast paced, involved and definitely keeps your attention. I even snapped at the cat for meowing when I was reading (partly because I’m just that sad), because it was just too hard to work out who it could have possibly been. I adore mysteries, and I hate when I can easily guess a plot line. That was a feature I adored with this book. I had NO FREAKING IDEA! Roxanne St. Claire throws in a good curveball with the reveal of the killer, one that is welcomed and surprisingly easy to accept.

Latin makes sense in a way that my world rarely does.

The character of Kenzie, Mack or anything else people decide to call her in the story, is one that I found rather interesting. Racked with guilt from her past, she is a down-to-earth heroine who never succumbs to the peer pressure and stands up for what is right. She accepts the fact that she isn’t anything out of the ordinary, and revels in the fact that she is, simply put, a nerd. Her friendship with Molly, another character you can’t help but like, is one that is true and pure – the perfect teenage friendship. Like anyone else, there are ups and downs, but this doesn’t get it the way of their true friendship, even though it is tested throughout the book.

Why do people insist on advertising how perfect their little family is? Mom, Dad, soccer boy, and ballerina girl. All perfect. All … alive.

Molly, as mentioned previously, is like a little ray of sunshine. It could have been easy to succumb to jealousy when Kenzie made the list, but like a true friend, and a trooper, she dealt with it positively. She definitely keeps Kenzie grounded, making her the perfect anchor and best friend. Levi is that stereotypical bad boy who made a few mistakes and is instantly branded ‘bad news’. While I do enjoy the bad boy cliché, I wish that YA authors would realise that maybe we want stories about boys who play guitar, or actually give a damn about the girls feelings for once. I mean, not all nice guys finish last.

Dena sputters. “Who died and left you in charge?” Two girls gasp at the question; the rest of us stare slack-jawed at Dena. She throws both hands over her mouth and lets out a little cry. “Oh my God, I didn’t mean that.”

The story plot was one I thoroughly enjoyed. I wish I gave spoilers in my reviews, because I could easily rant and rave about all the good things that happened in the story, and what my favourite parts were. What I can say is that I liked the suspense the book kept you in, and the need to carry on in which it provided. Few books really do that, and I’m incredibly happy that this book was not a bust. Also, the cover was the main drawing point. I was wandering through my local Waterstones when I happened on the book. The cover fits the book perfectly, except that it makes it look like they’re talking about a sorority rather than a high school list. I still think it’s gorgeous though.

He gives me that hint of a half smile tempered with those smoky eyes, a look that’s probably stolen virginities, broken hearts, and inspired a few bad poems.

Something that made me incredibly happy was the lack on unanswered questions by the time I reached the end. I don’t want to be searching around for a sequel, unless the first book was the hottest thing since Ryan Reynolds. They All Fall Down leaves an ending which would easily set up a sequel, but wouldn’t be a necessary. I think she has captured both the master of a murder mystery and managed to do what most YA authors don’t – not make every teen feel they have to buy into a series or trilogy.

I want to replay everything, every word, every image that is burned into my brain.

In summary, for a book that was released two years ago, They All Fall Down is the perfect book if you like to read about murder mystery. Gah, that makes me sound terrible but I do. The story plot is interesting and new, the characters are quite cliché, I admit, but I still like them. The cover is lush, and I have awarded this book 5 out of 5 stars. So what are you doing still reading this? Go buy yourself a copy … now!

boreder

Leave a Reply

