Review // The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

9781509808281
Title // The Square Root of Summer
Author // Harriet Reuter Hapgood
Pages // 304 pages
Publisher // Pan Macmillan
Series // None
Release Date // May 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It’s a little bit like a black hole. It’s a little bit like infinity.

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she’s hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral. To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone’s heart is about to be broken.

boreder

unspecified

After a rather interesting email that discussed The Square Root of Summer, I received a bulky package through my front door. A gift from Pan Macmillan, I had been sent a copy of the book and some various swag.

With gratitude and excitement, I began to read the book instantly. Join me on this – buy yourself a copy and help me hashtag the #ThisIsWhoIAm movement.

boreder

All though a longer read than usual, and something that you should definitely put all your interest into, The Square Root of Summer is a fantastic YA novel that teaches you the importance of living in the now, the importance of dealing with the past, and the importance of keeping those you love close. It is absolutely one of my favourite releases for 2016!

My underwear is in the apple tree.

Gottie is one of my favourite characters ever. Having lived with a really strange family all her life, its no doubt that that weirdness has rubbed off on her. She’s funny, she’s kooky, and with the fact that every time she’s about to grab some answers she travels in time, then you can’t help but understand her frustration. I know for sure that I was frustrated during times within the book, so I can relate to how Gottie must have been feeling. Thomas is also a great person. His obvious feelings for Gottie make you wave a massive ‘ship’ banner all through-out the novel. He’s adorable, and even in the times when you see him as a little ‘un, you can’t help but find him adorable.

This universe is weird.

m y  t i m e  c a p s u l e

Capsule.jpg

Little by little, I forgot about the boy that forgot me first.

Bear in mind that while this book is a contemporary YA romance book, it is also a science fiction. I think its safe to say that this book was an experiment for me. Usually, if it’s a science fiction or a dystopian novel, I stay well away. However, this book has piqued my interest in science fiction books, and may lead me to trying to read a few others. I think the author, Harriet Reuter Hapgood, found a great balance. She kept the novel all about time travel, as clearly shown by her separation of the book into three parts, and made enough scientific references. But she also made sure to have a romantic element between Thomas and Gottie – a romance that I adored. This clever bend helps keep the story modern. It then appeals to the reader, which makes the book more likely to be read.

All the love we’ve lost hits me like an ocean wave.

It’s such a good book, and I can’t really go into any more detail without ruining the story plot for you. All I can do is advise you to buy the book when it hits the shops in TWO days and start reading. And although at first it may be a little confusing and boring, stick with it. This is not a book that you would want to miss.

5 stars

fa55add8-601c-4e5a-8904-5021373bd32c

boreder

Usually a book goes through several cover changes in its lifetime. Most variation depends on the publishing location. The Square Root of Summer is available in the following cover formats.

boreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Lola @ Hit or Miss Books saysThe Square Root of Summer is intriguing, beautifully-written, charming but very implausible (to me).”

Alyssa @ Pucks and Paperbacks says “Overall, I enjoyed reading this book despite some flaws I found while reading.”

Chelsey @ Chelsey Pippin says “It’s not a book about maths, it’s a heartfelt and incredibly atmospheric window into a tough transition.”

2 thoughts on “Review // The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Leave a Reply

