Review // Twisted by Hannah Jayne

28218622
Title // Twisted
Author // Hannah Jayne
Pages // 304 pages
Series // None
Publisher // Sourcebooks FIRE
Release Date // July 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

When her father is accused of being a serial killer, Bex becomes the ultimate bait in this game of cat and mouse

Bex is ready to start a new life in foster care. There, she won’t be known as a serial killer’s daughter. Though her father was never tried for the murders attributed to “The Wife Collector,” he disappeared after questioning. And Bex struggles with the guilt that she provided the circumstantial evidence that convicted him in the public’s perception—and drove him to abandon her.

But when a body turns up in her new hometown, all signs point to the Wife Collector. Bex’s old life isn’t ready to let her go. The police want to use Bex to lure in her father. But is she baiting a serial killer or endangering an innocent man?

boreder

If there is a genre of book that I have grown to love over the past year, it is definitely murder mystery, mystery and thriller stories. There’s some kind of pull to them, that makes me want to read until the very end. Perhaps that’s what provoked me to read two thrillers in two days. Who knows? Hannah Jayne’s newest work, Twisted, is definitely a story that is twisted. The title has never been more fitting to a crime book. Fascinating and interesting, Twisted is a book that will make you want to read until the very end.

The character of Bex, or Beth Anne as known before her self reinvention, is one that I treated as a marmite character. While I understood the constant paranoia that would arise from being the daughter of an alleged murderer, I still didn’t really like her at times. However, her flashbacks to when she was a little girl were quite harrowing to read. I must admit that Bex is a tough character. If my father was ever to be labelled a sociopath and murderer, and then the label of the ‘Devil’s Spawn’ was branded on me, I probably wouldn’t hold myself up. It’s fair to say that Bex was dealt a pretty bad hand by fate. Still, at time I found her unconvincing and emotionally detached. I also didn’t really like her friends, who seemed to be a little shallow. A character I did actually like, was Detective Daniel Schuster. Nobel, and out to do the right thing, he was a definitely a man that I found interesting.

The sedan was gone; the man watching her from the driver’s seat was gone-so why wasn’t the sickening feeling in her gut?

Twisted as a novel was incredibly quick to read. Finished within the space of two hours, the book kept me on edge and fascinated for the duration of that time. The story has a fast pace, and with the events that unfold within the story, it is definitely something that will keep YA readers from boring or tiring. From reading this story, there is definitely provocation to read her other works, which sounds quite similar. If it is similar to this story, then it will be right down my avenue, and something I adore as well.

A frustration that arose from this book was the ending. Because I tend to avoid spilling spoilers all over my reviews, which would be completely horrible to anybody reading them before buying, it’s ending isn’t a massive shock. However, after reading the book, a small part of me does feel quite cheated almost? I can;t really pin my finger on it, and it might just be my experience with the book – but I feel like I’m missing something big. Either that, or I feel like a massive fool for not working out who was the killer from the beginning. That little cry inside might just be the detective inside stomping around in frustration.

No. She had heard wrong. Trevor didn’t love her. No one did. She was unlovable.

Twisted is a book that I would recommend to the YA and probably even the teen community. It’s interesting, quick and hits the right spot for everything that I adore in a story. However, my scoring of this book is limited to a four out of five, because there is still that dying need inside that I just cannot put my hands on. I would like to massively thank Sourcebooks FIRE for the opportunity to read this story before its publishing date. Please, go and check out this novel! It might just be one of the best things you do.

 

4 stars

Leave a Reply

