Review // The Girl Who Fell by Shannon M. Parker

The Girl Who Fell
Title // The Girl Who Fell
Author // Shannon M. Parker
Pages // 320 pages
Publisher // Simon & Schuster
Series // None
Release Date // March 2016
Find it on Goodreads – Buy it on Amazon

High school senior Zephyr Doyle is swept off her feet—and into an intense and volatile relationship—by the new boy in school.

His obsession.
Her fall.

Zephyr is focused. Focused on leading her team to the field hockey state championship and leaving her small town for her dream school, Boston College.

But love has a way of changing things.

Enter the new boy in school: the hockey team’s starting goaltender, Alec. He’s cute, charming, and most important, Alec doesn’t judge Zephyr. He understands her fears and insecurities—he even shares them. Soon, their relationship becomes something bigger than Zephyr, something she can’t control, something she doesn’t want to control.

Zephyr swears it must be love. Because love is powerful, and overwhelming, and … terrifying?

But love shouldn’t make you abandon your dreams, or push your friends away. And love shouldn’t make you feel guilty—or worse, ashamed.

So when Zephyr finally begins to see Alec for who he really is, she knows it’s time to take back control of her life.

If she waits any longer, it may be too late.

boreder

The Girl Who Fell is an eye-opener to all young adults dating someone. Telling the haunting story of Zephyr and her controlling boyfriend Alec, I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a relationship to end so much.

There was a time when I feared darkness.

As a child.

Alone. Not now.

Darkness doesn’t have fingers that twist into my flesh. Darkness can’t stalk me. It can’t drive me into the shadows because darkness is fleeting. Not like the threat before me.

Zephyr is the typical all-American girl who is insecure about her worth. While she is easily likable, many of her choices aren’t. This was something I found annoying – a sort of flaw in her personality. Although her behaviour intentionally changes in the middle of the story, I found myself angry with her vulnerability and her need to make Alec forgive her. Considering the fact she goes through what she does with Alec though – this vulnerability is justified. It just gets quite tedious to those outside of a relationship. Slice, or Gregg as Zephyr calls him, is literally bae. The fact he refuses to believe that he doesn’t have a chance with Z is adorable. He always has her back, and is there whenever she needs him most. He’s funny and friendly, and everyone’s favourite guy. Gregg is definitely one of my favourite male characters of all time. Alec is – in layman’s terms – a dick. I have no tolerance for men like him, and believe that the author has portrayed his controlling nature and violent behaviour perfectly. If I ever had the chance to slap a book character with a brick – then Alec would be the man to call.

I’ve got one foot in this world and one in the next.

Something I really admire is the fact that S.M. Parker chose to write a book about dangerous relationships. While it is something that out modern society has become more exposed to, we ignore that a lot of this happens in the relationships of the young. Insecurities mixed with changing hormones and poor experience can led to some serious problems in a relationship. The fact that The Girl Who Fell is a book which can alert those either in toxic relationships, or those who have friends in one, is amazing!

I wish the flower could just be a flower, but instead it makes me wonder what Alec sees in me, and if this is what I need right now.

However, the pace of the book was something I’m not too fond on. The opening chapter is gripping and heart racing – but as the chapters unfold afterwards, you sort of lose interest. I can usually read a book in a number of hours. This one has taken me three days.

And it is this realization that collapses me against the wall, sinks me into a blurred heap because I can’t separate what is real and what is Alec and what is me.

All in all – the book was something I’m glad I read. It might have taken me a lot of motivation and time to actually finish it, but its going to sit pretty on my bookshelf. The story is haunting and eye-opening. The Girl Who Fell deserves 4 out of 5 snowflakes.

5 stars

boreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Joey @ Another After Thought says “This story is not happy, nor is it sad.”

Jen @ Pop Goes the Reader says “The Girl Who Fell holds within it the power to change – and save – lives. It has already changed mine.”

Brit @ Book Rambles says “I’m so impressed with how well this was executed.”

boreder

shannon
About the Author

Shannon Parker lives on the Atlantic coast with a house full of boys. She’s traveled to over three dozen countries and has a few dozen more to go. She works in education and can usually be found rescuing dogs, chickens, old houses and wooden boats. Shannon has a weakness for chocolate chip cookies and ridiculous laughter—ideally, at the same time. The Girl Who Fell is her first novel. Find her at www.shannonmparker.com

Leave a Reply

