Review // With Malice by Eileen Cook

w i t h  m a l i c e
Title //
With Malice
Author // Eileen Cook
Pages // 320 pages
Publisher // HMH Books for Young Readers
Series // None
Release Date // June 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling, addictive, compulsive read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend–only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?

Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last 6 weeks should be. She comes to discover she was involved in a fatal accident while on a school trip in Italy three days previous but was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident. Wondering not just what happened but what she did, Jill tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.

boreder

This book . . . Eileen Cook has to be playing a game with me here! Like honestly, I just spent two hours reading this! How the hell can my brain be so messed so right now?! Eileen Cook, I take my (non-existant) hat off to you. Right here, is a fan for life!

Everyone was treating me as if at any moment I might explode into a thousand shards.

Lets start with something simple – graphics! The cover is so freaking pretty. With Malice takes advantage of newer, more modern fonts to appeal to readers. The picture of an Italian background suits the book perfectly, and as usual, the cover was a main factor that pulled me. This book is essentially for the YA market, and fits into it perfectly. Enticing, questionable and with the added style and mystery of the title, this is definitely something that (if marketed right) will take the fiction world by storm.

There was still a big hole where my memory was supposed to be, but it no longer felt like I was trying to think through a thick haze.

Jill is a character that reminded me of Julia from Damage Done. While you feel really bad for her at first, as the story progresses you kind of have to make up your mind. In the end of the story, I didn’t like Jill very much. Although if I’m being honest, I didn’t think much of Simone either. I think that’s the beauty of this story. The way it is written means that it you get to see both sides of the characters as the story progresses.

But I was worried. Simone was dead, and I had no idea how it had happened.

The biggest appeal to this book is the idea that a girl can wake up one day in hospital and not remember the last six weeks of her life. Even more appealing is the idea that she can be blamed for a murder she can’t even remember. Or that the girl who was murdered was her best friend. Eileen Cook created a masterpiece with this story, so it gains a brilliant 5 out of 5 stars. There isn’t much I can give away without ruining the plot – so go out there and buy this book!

5 stars

Advertisements

One thought on “Review // With Malice by Eileen Cook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s