Review // Waterfall by Amber Garr

cover83525-medium
Title // Waterfall
Author // Amber Garr
Pages // 179 pages
Publisher // Mark My Words Book Publicity
Series // Water Crisis Chronicles, #1
Release Date // June 2015
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

The water is gone. The wars have begun.

Clean water is a luxury most can no longer afford. Climate change, industrial sabotage, and greed have turned country against country as each one tries to provide for its citizens. Terrorist groups target desalinization plants and frustrated governments hunt those who work against them. Rationing, sequestering, and patrolling have become routine at a time when there are too many people and not enough resources.

While the world around them disintegrates into chaos, Zach and Vivienne hope that their life in a government-run complex will retain some semblance of normalcy. But when attacks on their water supplies bring war to their sheltered community, they must accept their new fate. Stay and fight or flee and endure—it’s a difficult decision with lasting consequences.

Will they choose what’s safe? Or will they choose to survive?

boreder

Dystopian novels and novellas aren’t really my thing. Ever since Suzanne Collins and James Dashner hit it big with their own tales of world destruction, every other YA author seems to be cashing in on the idea. This is something that bugs me, because it hides the true potential. Waterfall by Amber Garr did have potential. But I think it was wasted by dragging out the plot and making the pace slow and mind numbing.

The water is gone. The wars have begun.

There’s a nice little plot to this story. Environmental hazards have come true and we should have listened to Greenpeace. There is officially no clean water and the government are having to produce it. Terrorists are trying to blow up people, so government retaliates by enslaving people and killing them. That’s the plot of Waterfall right there. While it was a good plot idea, reading it out in a two-hundred page eBook really highlighted how boring it was. The book had little pace and the moments of action were quick. Basically, there were some shootings. That’s all I can say.

I swear someone broke into my house and stole one of every shoe I own.

Having slept since I read this book, I’ve found there is little I can remember from this story. When I read a book, I want to be able to remember the details. I want to be able to be surprised or shocked – but after reading Waterfall, there is absolutely little I can say about it. It was a good read at the time, and prevented me from being bored, it is not a series I will be investing in.

Despite the world crashing down around us, he still made time to be a dick.

The characters were okay, I guess. Much like the book itself, they left no impact on me. When reading Waterfall, I enjoyed Zach’s sarcasm and humour. Vivienne is a bit of a marmite character – you either love her or you hate her. I liked how she waved the feminism flag when facing misogynistic attitudes from other male characters. Pretty much after that, I had nothing.

But as we neared our complex and the blaring signs of a world breaking down surrounded us, I knew those dreams were lost to us forever.

The attempt to try and sneak in some romance between the characters was a little crazy. They were in the middle of apocalypse but Zach had a constant boner for Viv. I can see how the idea was good in theory, but the working in of the romance plot makes you feel dizzy (and not in the good kind.)

When the entire world goes to shit around you, the first thing on your shouldn’t be sex.

I don’t think I’ll be reading the rest of this series. While there might be other readers who enjoyed the story, I just didn’t. It was a shame honestly. I did however think the cover was beautiful, and perhaps with some work and careful planning, the story could have true potential if the script was reviewed and possibly rewritten.

Survival didn’t come easy. At least not for those of us on the run.

Amber Carr receives a poor 1 out of 5 snowflakes for this novel. I hate awarding low marks, but I also wouldn’t read this again under any circumstances. However, huge respect for getting her work published and out there.

1 star

Leave a Reply

