Early February Book Haul!

I love the fact that I can now browse freely around bookstores and retail stores without limiting my time. The perks of being eighteen!

So hello to everyone out there reading this blog! I’m Cody, and if you knew my personality, you’d understand the name of this blog. This is my first ever haul, so I’m really excited to share it with you. I afore the new book feeling, and the joy you get from picking one up. But you probably understand.

Surprisingly, I was left with some money from my January wages. This was unexpected as I’d forked out for money birthdays and revision materials for approaching exams. But there’s nothing I love more than book shopping, and so I headed over to do some this morning. And in all honesty, I’m more than pleased with my finds.

I managed to purchase two new books for a total of £7! If I had ventured to Waterstones or WHSmith, I could have paid twice the amount of that. Surprising that at my local ASDA, I can buy two books for the price of one. The only off-putting factor is that they only have select titles, and a teeny, tiny YA section. Still, beggars can’t be choosers.

My finds today consisted of two novels – All The Rage and Waiting for Callback. Admittedly, I only purchased the later to take advantage of the offer. But upon inspecting the novel, and reviews online, I cannot wait to sit down with this book.

 

a l l  t h e  r a g e 

A book that draws you in from the cover and the title, I found my hands itching to reach for the book as soon as I approached the stand. There was a certain mystique to it – something that made it call out to me.

As I plucked it from the stand, the issues mentioned in the description jumped out at me. I definitely understood that this was a book I wanted to read. And, cheekily, I read the first chapter in store. Don’t judge me, of wasn’t very big. But boy did it have an impact. From the minute I held the book there was no doubt in my mind that I’d be paying for it and reading it as soon as I got home.

And that’s just what I’m going to do – so watch this space for a review!

 

w a i t i n g  f o r  c a l l b a c k

Arguably, the less appealing book of my buys today, Waiting For Callback had an attractive cover to female readers. While it is classed as YA, I’d probably place it as being aimed at more the younger section of readers – probably pre-teens.

Reading the description, the book reminds me of more of a high school dilemma than dealing with some of the hard-hitting issues. However, there is still a lot of time to give this book a go. While it won’t be my first read, it certainly won’t be my last.

 

s u r p r i s e !  b o y 2 3

The last thing I expected after I got home was a parcel sat waiting on my doorstep. Let alone, a parcel from one of the biggest publishers I’ve ever heard off. Enclosed I found a full copy of Boy 23 and a small note from what I can only assume is the PR team.

 

All in all, I don’t think I’ve had a pretty bad day. Anything unexpected happen to you? Found any bargains on your favourite books recently? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

