Review // I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

17408897
Title // I Am Princess X
Author // Cherie Priest
Pages // 256 pages
Publisher // Arthur A. Levine Books
Series // None
Release Date // May 2015
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives.

boreder

Cherie Priest is going to have me camping outside her house until she finishes her next novel. There was a mystery and child-like enhancement to I Am Princess X that had me hooked the first time I picked it up. It draws people in, even me, a seventeen (nearly eighteen) year old girl. I Am Princess X is the perfect mix between mystery and mayhem, adventure and coming-of-age.

And the princess was taken away.

Temporarily.

What initially attracted me to I Am Princess X was, superficially, the front cover. In today’s modern society, graphics is everything. The first thing you see before entering a shop or a cafe is a logo. If it looks tatty or half-hearted, you’ll feel half-hearted. As much as the novel industry hates to admit it, books have to have personality in the form of covers. That’s why they go through so many changes and re-releases. The first thing that draws you in is the decoration on the front cover. And the cover of I Am Princess X works as an amazing hook for readers. Its childishly and relates to the story, but keeps the older readers interested too.

They said there was no cure and no hope.

This is perfect for tweens and teens alike. Cherie Priest has cleverly combined two aspects, illustration and written language, to provide a gripping tale of loss, kidnap and deceit. While the chapters have their serious undertones as they dive into the moving tale, the comic pages give the story reasonability and keep the reader interested. The only issue would be the title. Although I Am Princess X is perfect to attract in YA girls, it won’t be something a boy reaches for in a hurry. This is a real shame, as it creates a split in genders. However, the fact that it is intended for girls justifies the title.

The curse was in her blood, in her bones.

The characterisation of May and Libby is magical. Their friendship captures the true picture of young friendship, and the naivety that this brings. When Libby is found dead, May is absolutely devastated. Yet May’s determination to uncover the truth about Libby’s death and the looming question of who is publishing the Princess X comics drives her forward. Her determination to continue her journey for truth is a golden tactic. You can’t but feel empowered by her bravery and push, even though she faces certain peril along the way.

He found a very good match.

He found the princess.

I Am Princess X is a book that will forever remain in my library shelf. It will probably be a book that I will pass onto my children and sit and read with them. It had no bounds to prevent its awesomeness, and it was a book that deserves all the praise it gets. 5 out of 5 snowflakes.

5 stars

boreder

Still unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Emily @ Books and Cleverness says “I’m really glad that I gave it a shot.”

Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff says “It’s definitely a new favourite of mine and I’d recommend it in a heartbeat.”

Sarah @ Sarah’s Book Addiction says “I Am Princess X kept me interested throughout the novel, and I would definitely recommend this to someone who’s looking for a book full of adventure; mystery/thriller lovers.”

boreder

221253
About Cherie Priest

CHERIE PRIEST is the author of over a dozen novels, including the steampunk pulp adventures The Inexplicables, Ganymede, Dreadnought, Clementine, and Boneshaker. Boneshaker was nominated for both the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award; it was a PNBA Award winner, and winner of the Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. Cherie also wrote Bloodshot and Hellbent from Bantam Spectra; Fathom and the Eden Moore series from Tor; and three novellas published by Subterranean Press.

In addition to all of the above, her first foray into George R. R. Martin’s superhero universe, Fort Freak (for which she wrote the interstitial mystery), debuted in the summer of 2011. Cherie’s short stories and nonfiction articles have appeared in such fine publications as Weird Tales, Publishers Weekly, and numerous anthologies. She lives in Chattanooga, TN, with her husband, a big shaggy dog, and a fat black cat.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review // I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s