Review // This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

This Is Where It Ends.jpg
Title // This Is Where It Ends
Author // Marieke Nijkamp
Pages // 293 pages
Publisher // Sourcebooks FIRE
Series // None
Release Date // January 2016
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

10:00 a.m
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging then to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03 a.m
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

boreder

My thoughts and feelings on This Is Where It Ends were incredibly mixed. The storyline and general idea was amazing – a boy goes into a school auditorium and starts shooting everyone. The description hooks you and you start to read out of interest, but instead feel disappointment with the entire thing.

Everybody has a reason to fear the boy with a gun.

Stand-offish teenage boy goes into his high school and shoots. He kills anyone and everyone, but at the same time knows his targets. What frustrated me so damn much when I read this story was the way it was told. The layout was good, with the ordeal being told from multiple personalities, over different types of ways. This was a feature I had enjoyed when reading books like NEED by Joelle Charbonneau and You Were Here by Cori McCarthy. However, This Is Where It Ends lacked pace. I enjoy books that absorb me and make me loose track of time. A book isn’t a good book unless you get caught up in the story plot and characters. With This Is Where It Ends, I was constantly checking my watch or seeing how many pages there was to the end. While I haven’t been reading and reviewing books for very long, I can tell that that is not a good sign.

Ty uses the gun to push a wayward strand of hair out of his face. He’s sweating so hard the gel won’t hold. With his free hand, he polishes the blood off the bracelet.

The reasoning behind the shooting is a fantastic one – which is probably why I was so frustrated with the book at the end. The potential was wasted, something I believed down to the writing. Yet I take into account that this is the writers first piece and so flaws are allowed. After all, we are only human. Because I personally hate spoilers, I will not reveal the ending in my review. That would be incredibly cruel. On a lighter note, the chilling end to the novel is something that readers, even those who have problems with the book up until that point, will enjoy. For that, she earned an extra snowflake.

“The world is against us. You need to understand that before it kills you.” It’s rich, coming from the kid with the gun.

Perhaps in years to come, I will unearth this book from the back of my crowded bookshelf and decide it deserves a second chance. Perhaps I will open it up and fall in love with the stories of Ty, Tomás, Autumn, Claire and Syvl. But for now, I will be giving This Is Where It Ends an underwhelming two stars.

2 stars

borederStill unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Kristin @ Nerd Probs says “A wonderful work of art by a word wizard. Five stars well deserved.”

Paula @ Her Book Thoughts says “Just because I didn’t enjoy it doesn’t mean you wont”

Sarah @ Sarah in Zombieland says “I have so much love for this book.”

borederMarieke Nijkamp.jpg
About Marieke Nijkamp

Marieke Nijkamp a storyteller, dreamer, globe-trotter, and diversity advocate. She holds degrees in philosophy, history, and medieval studies.

Her debut YA novel THIS IS WHERE IT ENDS will be out from Sourcebooks Fire in 2016. You can follow her on Twitter @mariekeyn, and visit her online at www.mariekenijkamp.com

 

2 thoughts on “Review // This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

  1. Nika says:

    When I first heard about this book, I was like: “I need to read it right now!” The synopsis sounds amazing and I still can’t wait to read it. But thank you for this review. I’m glad that I won’t have too high expectations with this book and be disappointed at the end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

