Review // Slated by Terri Terry

Slated

Title // Slated
Author //
Teri Terry
Pages // 448 pages
Publisher // Orchard Books
Series // Slated, #1
Release Date // May 2012
Find it on Goodreads and Amazon

Kyla’s memory has been erased,
her personality wiped blank,
her memories lost for ever.

She’s been Slated.

The government claims she was a terrorist and that they are giving her a second chance – as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla’s mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

boreder

What is there that I can say about Slated? I happened upon this novel when I was out searching the YA section at my local Waterstones. The cover and the title grabbed me from the minute I saw it in another girls hands. Of course, as the shop only stock one of each book at a time, I had to wait for her to put it back up – then I pounced. I found the description intriguing and found myself wanting to read more. So, naturally, I bought myself a lovely new copy and headed home to start on it.

It is one thing to ask questions; what do you do with the answers?

Something that led to the purchase of Slated was the description on the back. Normally, I’m not a sci-fi or dystopian reader (with the exception of certain series). However, the story line in this story was absolutely bloody brilliant! Hats off, Terri Terry! The story itself follows the life of Kyla, a slated who isn’t the same as every other slated. While she still can’t remember her crimes or her past life, she begins to have small snippets appear. It was interesting how it focussed more on psychological issues rather than physical. This is something that is refreshing, as from all the YA dystopian novels I have read, this one specifically stood out. The concept of having a chip in the brain that monitors emotions is both creepy and fascinating – something I hope that continues into the next book.

Use the fear; feed the anger.

A bug-bear of mine in this novel had to be how Kyla seemed to be a little bit boring. Aside from her thoughts and feelings, she was very repetitive. She seems to emphasise how different she is, instead of rolling with it. Also – she helps Ben remove his levo! I mean come on, I’m still pretty mad about that. I understand that she has had her memory wiped, and so will still be largely unsure of everyday life. But when she cuts herself with the knife while washing up? Come on!

Pain can kill, all on its own: the body goes into shock and shuts down.

However, I look forward to reading Fractured, the second installment of this series. A lot of my questions were left unanswered at the end of Slated, and I found the ending brought even more questions than answers. Terri Terry has earned a great 4 out 5 snowflakes for Slated considering how well written and different this book was.

4 stars

borederStill unsure on whether this book is the one for you? Have a look at what other bloggers have to say.

Lillian @ A Novel Toybox says “Overall, Slated was just very disappointing.”

Books Around The World says “I’m looking forward to continuing this series!”

Jen @ Jen’s Pen Den says “If you’re looking for a quick read that’s entertaining and different, check out Slated.”

borederUsually a book goes through several cover changes in its lifetime. Most variation depends on the publishing location. Damage Done is available in the following cover formats.

borederTerri Terry
About Terri Terry

Teri has lived in France, Canada, Australia and England at more addresses than she can count, acquiring three degrees, a selection of passports and a silly name along the way. Past careers have included scientist, lawyer, optometrist, and, in England, various jobs in schools, libraries and an audiobook charity. The footpaths and canal ways of the Buckinghamshire Chilterns where she now lives inspired much of the setting of Slated. She hates broccoli, likes cats, and has finally worked out what she wants to do when she grows up. You can follow her on Facebook, and visit her online at www.teriterry.jimdo.com

4 thoughts on “Review // Slated by Terri Terry

  1. Bill says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I wish to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

